Call Us865-281-1000

Bank of America Building
550 Main Street SW, Suite 775
Knoxville, TN 37902

Knoxville Lawyer for Driver's License Reinstatement After a DUI

Knoxville Driving Relief Lawyer

Defense Attorney in Knox County Helping Clients Get Their Driver's License Back

There are many possible consequences associated with a conviction of driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of Tennessee. In most cases, you will spend at least 48 hours in jail, pay expensive fines, and attend mandatory treatment programs. The law in Tennessee also provides that a DUI conviction will result in your driving privileges being revoked for a period of time.

At the law firm of Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney, we understand that the revocation of your driver's license can dramatically impact your quality of life and that of your family. Our knowledgeable team will help you explore your options for getting back on the road legally during your revocation, as well as getting your license back after the revocation ends.

Driving Relief Options in Tennessee Start Here

Reliable transportation is necessary for most people to be able to work and provide for their families. While driving is not a guaranteed right under Tennessee law, the state does recognize the importance of allowing people to drive legally, even after a DUI conviction. With this in mind, there are several avenues available through which you could be back on the road if you lost your license as the result of a DUI conviction.

In most cases, you will need to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle before you will be approved for a restricted license. With an IID installed, your restricted license permits you to drive without other limitations. If an IID is not required in your case, you might be able to get a restricted license, but you will be limited to driving for certain purposes only, such as getting to work or school.

License Reinstatement Lawyer in Campbell County

Before you can be approved for permanent reinstatement of your driver's license, you must meet the criteria set for your particular case. You will also need to complete all of the necessary steps, including:

  • Turning in your suspended license as ordered at the beginning of the revocation. Failure to do so will result in a $75 fine;
  • Completing the minimum period of revocation/suspension;
  • Paying all applicable statutory fees, as well as any additional fines;
  • Submitting an SR-22 proof of future financial responsibility form, subject to a $50 fee;
  • Installing an IID in your vehicle, if you have been ordered to do so;
  • Completing an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program, if applicable; and
  • Paying a license reinstatement fee.

Our team will help you understand the steps that you must take based on the circumstances of your case. We will remain at your side throughout every stage of the reinstatement process.

Protecting Your Future

At the Knox County firm of Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney, we know that the path to getting back on the road is often intimidating and confusing. Our team has the experience and tools to help get you behind the wheel again without unnecessary stress or delays.

If your driving privileges have been revoked in relation to a DUI charge or conviction, contact our office today. Call 865-281-1000 to schedule your free consultation and case review. We help clients in Knoxville, Farragut, Mascot, Union County, Campbell County, Anderson County, and Knox County.

certificate lead counsel ncdd ncdd Elite Lawyer ncdd
Back to Top