Call Us865-281-1000

Bank of America Building
550 Main Street SW, Suite 775
Knoxville, TN 37902

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Knoxville, TN for First Drunk Driving Arrest

Tennessee First-Offense DUI Attorneys

Knox County Attorney for First-Offense DUI Cases

Throughout the last few decades, government entities, not-for-profit groups, and other organizations have spent many thousands of hours and billions of dollars to educate the public about the dangers associated with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. However, every year, thousands of Tennessee drivers are arrested for drunk driving. Driving under the influence (DUI) is not only dangerous but it is also against the law. A conviction on charges of DUI will have a dramatic effect on your life, even for a first offense.

At the law firm of Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney, we know that the state of Tennessee is particularly hard on drunk driving. The penalties for first offense DUI in Tennessee are among the most severe in the entire nation. If you have been arrested on charges of driving under the influence, our team will provide the help you need in protecting your best interests.

Severe Penalties for First-Offense DUI

As with any criminal offense, the outcome of your case will always depend on the unique circumstances that are involved. Make no mistake, however, if you are convicted of a first-time DUI offense, you will go to jail for at least 48 hours, and possibly for up to 11 months and 29 days. You may also be put on probation, ordered to pay fines of up $1,500, and have your driver's license revoked for one year. In most cases, you must also attend a mandatory DUI education program and a MADD victim impact panel at your own personal expense.

Understanding Your Options

First-time offenders who have been charged with other criminal offenses are often eligible for diversion programs that allow them to avoid conviction by completing the terms of the program. Such diversion programs are not available to those charged with DUI. However, depending on the circumstances of your case, our team might be able to negotiate an agreement with prosecutors to have your charge reduced to reckless driving. If the charge is reduced, you might become eligible for a diversion program.

At our firm, we realize that the justice system in Tennessee can be overwhelming and frightening, especially for someone who has never been charged with a crime. We will work with you in understanding your options and will help you make good decisions regarding your case and your future.

Driving Relief Programs

If your drunk driving arrest results in a conviction, you will lose your driver's license for one year. During that year, your life will go on, and you will probably need to get to and from work or school. There are several options that might be available to you that will allow you to drive legally during the period of revocation. In most cases, you will need to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car that allows you to drive without other restrictions. An ignition interlock device will be required for you to drive again legally if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.08 or higher when you were arrested.

Another option for getting back behind the wheel is a restricted license. A restricted license allows you to drive only at specified times and in specified areas. For example, your restricted license could permit you to drive to and from your job only on days when you are scheduled to work. Our team will help you explore the driving relief options that will best suit your situation.

Call 865-281-1000 Today

To learn more about us and our approach to first-offense DUI cases, contact our office. Call 865-281-1000 to schedule a free consultation. We represent clients in Campbell County, Anderson County, Knox County, and throughout East Tennessee.

certificate lead counsel ncdd ncdd Elite Lawyer ncdd
Back to Top