Call Us865-281-1000

Bank of America Building
550 Main Street SW, Suite 775
Knoxville, TN 37902

Knox County Second and Subsequent DUI Arrest Attorney

Knox County Second-Offense DUI Attorney

Defense Lawyer for Multiple Drunk Driving Charges in Knoxville, TN

If you have ever been convicted on drunk driving charges in Tennessee, you know how severe the penalties are. You probably spent at least 48 hours in jail and lost your driver's license for one year. A second or third conviction, as you might expect, will have even greater consequences. You can rely on the experienced team at the law firm of Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney, to provide the guidance you need when you are facing charges for a second, third, fourth, or subsequent DUI offense.

Trusted Union County DUI Lawyers

While the penalties for a first DUI offense in Tennessee are harsh, they are intended to rehabilitate an offender and prevent future instances of driving under the influence. When a person is charged a second time, the focus turns more toward punishing dangerous and destructive behavior.

In most cases, a second or third DUI offense in Tennessee is charged as a misdemeanor. The penalties associated with a second conviction include:

  • Jail time of at least 45 days;
  • Possible incarceration of up to 11 months and 29 days;
  • Up to $3,500 in fines;
  • Loss of your driver's license for two years;
  • Mandated participation in a drug or alcohol treatment program; and
  • Mandated installation of an ignition interlock device at your expense.

A conviction on your third DUI charge carries more time in jail, greater fines, and the loss of your license for a longer period:

  • Jail time of at least 120 days, with 11 months and 29 days of incarceration possible;
  • Up to $10,000 in fines; and
  • Loss of your driver's license for six years.

Felony DUI Charges

Any charge for your fourth or subsequent DUI offense in Tennessee is prosecuted as a Class E felony, and the potential consequences are even more serious. If you are convicted for the fourth time or more, you will face:

  • Jail time of at least 150 consecutive days, with a one to six year prison sentence;
  • Up to $15,000 in fines; and
  • Loss of your driver's license for eight years.

As with prior DUI convictions, you will also be required to attend an alcohol or drug treatment program. You must also install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle before you would be eligible to drive again legally.

It is important to understand that you could also face felony DUI charges due to aggravating factors in any DUI case, regardless of your previous history. For example, if you are arrested for DUI after causing a crash in which another person is seriously hurt or killed, felony DUI charges are likely. The nature of the charges against you and the possible penalties will vary based on the circumstances of your case.

Client-Centered Solutions in Farragut and Mascot

At the law firm of Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney, we know that a second or subsequent DUI charge can leave you feeling hopeless. While it might feel like there is no good way forward, our team may be able to help you obtain an outcome that minimizes the impact on your future. We will fully investigate the details of your arrest, the results of chemical tests, and more to ensure that your rights are protected every step of the way. We are committed to working hard for you no matter what challenges lie ahead.

To learn more about our firm or to schedule your free, confidential consultation, contact our office. Call 865-281-1000 today. We serve clients in Knoxville, Mascot, Farragut, Knox County, Union County, Campbell County, Anderson County, and the surrounding areas.

certificate lead counsel ncdd ncdd Elite Lawyer ncdd
Back to Top