schedule your consultation865-281-1000

Five Frequently Asked Questions about Domestic Violence Cases in Tennessee

 Posted on May 05,2022 in Domestic Violence

Knoxville domestic violence defense lawyerDomestic violence is defined as a series of patterned, abusive behaviors against a partner or family member. These patterns can range from physical violence to emotional and mental abuse. In Tennessee, domestic violence and abuse include intentionally inflicting physical harm or pain or threatening to inflict harm on a spouse, partner, or family member. Understanding the differences between domestic violence and other violent charges can be confusing, and those accused of violent crimes may feel unsure about their next steps. Here are five frequently asked questions about handling a domestic violence accusation in Tennessee.

How Common is Domestic Violence in Tennessee?

According to a 2021 report from the Tennessee Bureau of Investigations, there were 69,385 criminal offenses linked to or reported as domestic violence cases in the state in 2020. Between 2019 and 2020, domestic violence cases rose by approximately 2.6%. The report states that most domestic violence cases in Tennessee were between boyfriends and girlfriends.

What is the Difference Between Battery and Domestic Violence?

Domestic violence and battery charges include instances of an individual inflicting intentional physical harm on another person. However, the term battery is a broad account of various types of assault, while domestic violence includes violence that occurs within someone’s immediate domestic circle.

Are Verbal Disputes Considered Domestic Violence?

If verbal disputes include emotional or mental abuse, specifically threats to harm another person, the circumstances can be charged as domestic violence. As mentioned previously, domestic violence consists of both intentional physical contact and threats to make violent physical contact. If a spouse, partner, or family member threatens another individual in their domestic social circle with violence, this can be charged as domestic violence.

Will I Go to Jail for Domestic Violence Charges?

Domestic violence accusations can lead to serious criminal charges in Tennessee. The state has strict domestic violence laws outlined in the Tennessee Domestic Violence Act. Individuals convicted of domestic abuse, assault, or violence could face prison time depending on the type of violence, the circumstance, and aggravating factors. 

 Misdemeanor domestic violence charges can result in up to a year of jail time and up to $15,000 in fines depending on the nature of the crime. Aggravated domestic violence is charged as a felony, leading to up to potentially 15 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. 

 What Do I Do If I Am Accused of Domestic Violence?

If you are accused of domestic violence or abuse in Tennessee, it is in your best interest to reach out to a criminal defense attorney immediately. Domestic violence charges are serious, and defendants should not take them lightly. If you are convicted of domestic violence, this could stay on your permanent record.

Criminal Defense Attorney in Knoxville, TN

Domestic violence accusations are serious and should be handled as soon as possible. If you are facing criminal charges, our Knoxville criminal defense attorney at Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney takes an aggressive approach to representing clients facing criminal charges. For a free consultation with our firm to go over the details of your case, please reach out to us by calling 865-281-1000 today. 



Share this post:
Back to Top