Call Us865-281-1000

Bank of America Building
550 Main Street SW, Suite 775
Knoxville, TN 37902

5 Traffic Safety Laws to Be Aware of When You Are Visiting Tennessee

Posted on in Traffic Violations

Union County criminal defense attorney traffic violation

Driving in Tennessee can be an adventure, and the state is often a stop on family road trips. With the mountains, lakes, and national parks, Tennessee is a travel hotspot throughout the year. As a vacationer, it is important to be familiar with the state’s traffic laws to avoid receiving a violation ticket while visiting. A traffic ticket may not seem like a big deal, but as a visitor of the state, you would be required to pay any fines or attend any court dates within the state you received the ticket. In other words, if you are pulled over in Tennessee but live hours away, you could be required to make the road trip for a second time to address the traffic violation in that state. Below are five traffic safety laws that you should be aware of while visiting Tennessee:

  1. Texting and Driving: By this time, most states have outlawed texting and driving, so this law is likely not new to you. Be wary, however, of using your phone for GPS purposes as this can also be considered distracted driving and lead to a ticket. Always have your passenger handle directions or communication with your phone while you are driving.

  2. Move Over Law: If you spot an emergency vehicle stopped on the side of the road, it is required that you yield the right-of-way to the vehicle by moving into the closest lane available from the stopped car. This is to protect any law enforcement officers, construction workers, or emergency services employees while they are outside of their cars. Failure to move over can lead to charges and a stain on your record.

  3. Handgun Carry Permit Law: For outdoorsy vacationers, having their handgun in their vehicle may make them feel more comfortable. Tennessee honors out-of-state handgun carry permits as long as they are valid and up-to-date. Handguns are allowed to be in your vehicle, but it cannot be “on your person.” In other words, the gun must be kept within the vehicle, not held by or holstered on the driver or passengers. 

  4. Motorcycle Helmet Law: Riding a motorcycle in the mountains can be dangerous, but an adventurous feat that many motorcycle riders enjoy. While the mountains can act as a beautiful driving location, the state of Tennessee has recognized how dangerous this can be. It is required that all motorcycle riders wear helmets while driving. Failure to do so will result in a ticket.

  5. Alcohol Laws: As is the case in all states, driving while intoxicated is illegal and the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is 0.08 percent. Even just one offense can result in a $350 minimum fine and 48 hours in jail. It is also important to note that drivers cannot consume or possess an open container of alcohol in their car while driving. So, even if you are not drinking the alcohol but it has been opened previously, you could face criminal charges for this action.

Contact a Knoxville, TN Traffic Violations Defense Attorney

Knoxville is a popular place within the state of Tennessee for visitors to stop by. Without full knowledge of the traffic laws in the area, you could be facing a traffic violation, fines, or even jail time. Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney helps defend those who are facing criminal charges, regardless of their severity. Attorney Coller provides aggressive and dedicated legal representation whether you reside in Tennessee or got in trouble along the way. For help with your case, contact our skilled Knox County criminal defense lawyer at 865-281-1000 to arrange your free consultation.

 

Sources:

https://www.tn.gov/safety/publicsafety/top10tnlaws.html

https://www.gunstocarry.com/gun-laws-state/tennessee-gun-laws/#tn-laws2 

 

certificate lead counsel ncdd ncdd Elite Lawyer ncdd
Back to Top