Call Us865-281-1000

Bank of America Building
550 Main Street SW, Suite 775
Knoxville, TN 37902

What Are the Penalties for a DUI Conviction in Tennessee?

Posted on in DUI/DWI/BUI

Blount County criminal defense attorney for DUIA Tennessee DUI conviction can lead to harsh consequences. Even a first offense conviction results in mandatory jail time. Under Tennessee law, anyone who is operating a vehicle and has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher can be found guilty of driving under the influence. Not only can a conviction result in the loss of driving privileges, but it can also have a significant impact on all areas of a person’s life, both personally and professionally. Anyone who has been arrested for DUI should contact a Knoxville criminal defense attorney immediately.

DUI First Offense

Under current law, a driver convicted of a first-offense DUI faces between 48 hours and 11 and 29 days months of mandatory jail time. Their license will be revoked for one year and they will be required by the court to participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program. They will also be required to pay a fine of between $350 and $1,500. When their license is finally reinstated, they will be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed at their own expense.

DUI Second Offense

A second-offense DUI conviction results in a minimum of 45 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail and fines of between $600 and $3,500. A loss of license will last for two years. A person must also attend an alcohol and drug treatment program and have an Ignition Interlock Device installed. The court may also order the seizure or forfeiture of their vehicle.

DUI Third Offense

Drivers convicted of a third DUI offense will spend between 120 days and 11 months and 29 days in jail and pay between $1,000 and $10,000 in fines. They will lose their license for six years and must attend an alcohol and drug treatment program. The court will require an Ignition Interlock Device to be installed when they do have the right to drive again. Vehicle forfeiture or seizure may also be ordered.

DUI Fourth Offense

A fourth-offense DUI is charged as a Class E felony in Tennessee. A conviction means up to one year in jail, with a minimum of 150 days and loss of license for eight years. The driver will be ordered to pay between $3,000 and $15,000 in fines, as well as attend a program, obtain an Ignition Interlock Device, and possibly lose their vehicle in forfeiture or seizure.

Contact an Anderson County DUI Defense Lawyer

If you have been charged with DUI, it is imperative to begin building a defense against these charges immediately. A skilled Blount County DUI defense attorney knows there are a number of factors that can affect the results of blood and breath alcohol testing, which can raise questions about the validity of the arrest. To learn how our firm can help defend you against these charges, call  Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Lawyer today at 865-281-1000 to schedule a free and confidential consultation.

Source:

https://www.tn.gov/safety/publicsafety/duioutline.html

certificate lead counsel ncdd ncdd Elite Lawyer ncdd
Back to Top