Call Us865-281-1000

Bank of America Building
550 Main Street SW, Suite 775
Knoxville, TN 37902

What are the Punishments for Drugged Driving in Tennessee?

Posted on in DUI/DWI/BUI

Knox County DUI lawyer

Driving while under the influence of alcohol can result in serious consequences, but so can driving while impaired by marijuana, methamphetamine, prescription drugs, or other narcotics. In Tennessee, anyone who drives a motor vehicle has automatically given legal consent to be tested for drugs, alcohol, or both. Drivers always have the option to refuse a test, but that will be treated in much the same way as if the driver had submitted to the test and failed. 

DUI is taken very seriously by law enforcement and the courts of Tennessee. If you stand accused of drugged driving, it is essential you enlist the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who will fight for you.

What Are the Penalties for DUI?

  • For a first offense DUI, a convicted driver will be fined $350-$1,500 and face a license suspension of up to one year.
  • For a second offense DUI within 10 years of the first, a convicted driver will be fined $600-$3,500 and face a license suspension up to two years and jail time of 45 days to 11 months and 29 days.
  • For a third offense DUI within 10 years of the first, a convicted driver will be fined $1,100-$10,000 and face a license suspension of three to 10 years, along with jail time of 120 days to 11 months and 29 days. 
  • For a fourth offense or a subsequent offense, a convicted driver will be charged with a Class E felony. The penalties include a fine of $3000-$15,000, a license suspension of at least five years, and jail time of 150 days or more. 

A driver who is charged for DUI while driving with a minor in the vehicle can be fined an additional $1,000 and face 30 or more days in jail. If you are involved in an accident due to driving under the influence, penalties and punishments further intensify, more so if another person is injured or killed.

What Happens if You Refuse to Take a Chemical Test?

A refusal to submit to drug testing can result in automatic punishment. While you cannot be legally forced to submit to testing, refusal can result in a one-year license suspension, or two years if you have refused another test in the past. 

Contact an Experienced Knox County DUI Defense Lawyer

DUI charges are sometimes reduced or dropped if you have the right defense. Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney can assist you in getting a fair deal in your DUI case. To speak with a knowledgeable Knoxville, TN DUI defense attorney who will fight for the best possible outcome in your case, call 865-281-1000 to schedule a free consultation.

Source: 

https://norml.org/legal/item/tennessee-drugged-driving

 

certificate lead counsel ncdd ncdd Elite Lawyer ncdd
Back to Top