schedule your consultation865-281-1000

What Goes on My Record When I Get Pulled Over in Tennessee?

 Posted on September 09, 2019 in Traffic Violations

Anderson County traffic ticket defense lawyer

As a driver, seeing red and blue flashing lights in your rearview mirror is never a good feeling. The officer comes to your window, tells you what you did wrong, and usually writes you an expensive ticket. This can create a dent in your bank account and cause your car insurance rates to skyrocket. What many do not realize is that paying the ticket does not make the violation disappear. Like many other states, Tennessee utilizes a “point system” to track driving violations and keep drivers in check

What Is the “Point System?”

As indicated by the name, the point system adds penalty points to a person’s driver’s license and record with every violation. These points accumulate over time and can lead to bigger consequences than a high-dollar ticket. The value of demerit points is dependent upon the severity of the violation. More serious violations will result in more points and thus, harsher legal consequences. Drivers who accumulate 12 or more points in a single year will have their license suspended for 6 to 12 months. In other words, there is a chance that those who regularly do not follow the rules of the road could lose their driving privileges

The Points in Detail

The Tennessee Department of Homeland Security clearly outlines the point values for different types of violations. This compiled list can be used to inform drivers on possible consequences and deter them from driving recklessly. The following are common offenses and their point values:

  • Driving 6-15 mph over the speed limit: 3 points

  • Driving 16-25 mph over the speed limit: 4 points

  • Driving 26-35 mph over the speed limit: 5 points

  • Reckless driving: 6 points

  • Improper passing: 4 points

  • Failure to yield the right-of-way: 4 points

  • Using a cellphone while driving (under 18): 6 points

  • Passing a stopped school bus: 8 points

Can I Dispute the Ticket?

Every citizen has the right to dispute any ticket that they are issued, though many do not take the opportunity to do so. If you think that you are not guilty of a violation, you can fight against the charges with a defense attorney by your side. You will first submit a plea of “not guilty” to the court that issued the ticket. The court will then schedule your trial date. You will then contest the ticket in front of a judge, providing evidence to prove that you are not guilty. If the judge finds you innocent, all charges and points assigned to your record will be dropped.

Contact a Knox County Traffic Violations Lawyer 

Receiving a traffic violation is not uncommon, but a high number of them can lead to serious consequences. Depending on the level of your violation, you could lose your ability to drive altogether. Driving is a privilege; however, most people need this privilege to live their daily lives. Jeffrey Coller, Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney understands that errors can easily be made while driving or by the officer who pulled you over, and this should not jeopardize your right to drive. Our professional legal team can assist drivers facing traffic violations, regardless of the number of violations on one's record or the severity of the offense. If you have recently received a ticket, contact our diligent Knoxville, TN criminal defense attorney at 865-281-1000 for a free consultation.



Share this post:
Back to Top